Possibly the best fruit on earth

BananasI haven’t eaten any banana for a while since my mom suffers from diabetes. But yesterday I stumbled upon a good read about Chiquita bananas and it went off to a research-spree on banana nutrition facts. I know I’m obsessed with facts & statistic. I think being a former math teacher (for kindergarten🙂) I somehow acquired the habit of researching whatever I find. The afternoon turned out to be quite productive as I discovered many things new about bananas.

Reduce pain from menstrual cramps

As a matter of fact, bananas reduce pain from cramps as it’s rich in vitamin B6. This particular element also helps regulate blood glucose level. Now think about it I have to ask the doctor why my mom shouldn’t eat bananas.

Make you calm

This is probably why all the tennis players eat bananas during their break (I love tennis btw). Containing tryptophan, serotonin and norepinephrine, bananas help fight depression and balance your mood.

Protection from HIV!!!

This comes as a surprise to me. But apparently

, a lectin protein called BanLec can bind HIV-infected cells and help prevent them from replicating and transmitting. Awesome!

Baby Food

Bananas are considered the perfect food for your baby when he/she started eating solid food.

You are eating hands & finger (Ewh!)

When you eat bananas you are eating hands & fingers of a berry. Fact: bananas don’t grow on trees, they are classified as tree-like perennial herb. A single banana is a finger while a bunch of them is a hand. Pretty funny though.

Smokers’ best friend

Since bananas are high in potassium and magnesium, bananas help smokers recovering from nicotine withdrawal.

Those are the pretty interesting stuff I found about bananas. You can actually find the aforementioned info and more HERE. I will probably start eating more bananas from now on! It’s Paleo too.

Leave a comment